Teams

Teams in Bedrock allows for easy management and bulk assignment of permissions to first-class objects i.e. Pipelines, Models, Endpoints and Environments. You can find the Teams management page via the top right menu > Teams, as shown in the screenshot below. Any user can create a team.

Team roles

For Teams, there are two types of roles:

  • Maintainer

  • Member

The creator of a Team is assigned the ‘Maintainer’ permission by default. Users not part of a Team will not be able to see it. Permissions for both roles are explained in the table below:

Permissions

Maintainer

Member

Add Team as collaborator in objects

Remove Team as collaborator from objects

View members in the Team

Add members to the Team

Remove members from the Team

Add/remove members

Only Maintainers can add members by clicking on the top right corner ‘Add member’ button. To remove, simply click ‘Remove’ beside the user and click ‘Save’ for the changes to be reflected.

Add Team as collaborators to objects

Instead of adding collaborators one by one, Team allows you to bulk-add collaborators to an object. When a Team is added as a collaborator, everyone in the team is assigned same permissions as the Team e.g. if Team A is added as a collaborator to object A with 'Editor' role, all the Maintainers and Members of Team A will be assigned 'Editor' role on object A.

In the scenario when a user has more than one role on an object, Bedrock checks across all the assigned roles to the user. E.g. John is in Team A and Team A is added with 'Editor' role on object A. John is also added as an individual user on object A with 'Admin' role. In this case Bedrock will check across both the roles when performing an action. therefore, John can perform actions like 'Add collaborator to object A' or 'Delete object A', which are only reserved for Admin role.

To add a Team as a collaborator, click 'Add team' in the 'Add collaborator' pop-up and select the required Team from the dropdown. You can only add Teams that you are a part of.